The Last Sherlock Holmes Story by Michael Dibdin

The Last Sherlock Holmes Story

Michael Dibdin

Oxford University Press - Oxford Bookworms Library, 2007

Level 3, 1000 headwords




The Last Sherlock Holmes Story

Back Cover Note

For fifty years after Dr Watson's death, a packet of papers, written by the doctor himself, lay hidden in a locked box. The papers contained an extraordinary report of the case of Jack the Ripper and the horrible murders in the East End of London in 1888. The detective, of course, was the great Sherlock Holmes - but why was the report kept hidden for so long?
This is the story that Sir Arthur Conan Doyle never wrote. It is a strange and frightening tale.

Jane Austen

Michael Dibdin

Michael Dibdinwas born on 21 March 1947 in England. He is best known for writing Aurelio Zen mysteries, a series of 11 detective novels about Italian society. These series were a great success for him; the first of them Ratking for instance, won the Golden Dagger award in 1988.
He died on 30 March 2007 in Seattle due to illness. Some of his works are Aurelio Zen series – Ratking (1989), Vendetta (1991), Cabal (1992), Dead Lagoon (1994), Cosi Fan Tutti (1996), A Long Finish (1998), Blood Rain (1999), And Then You Die (2002), Medusa (2003), Back to Bologna (2005), End Games (2007), The Last Sherlock Holmes Story(1978), The Dying of the Light (1993) and Dirty Tricks (1991).

Read More